Chocolate Walnut Cake

The husband doesn’t like eggs in his cake. Yes, he can be absurd like that. But who am I kidding? I am not an easy-eater myself. So yesterday I tried a Yolanda Gampp in my clumsy kitchen and whipped up a walnut cake. Actually, two walnut cakes frosted into one. Mind you, it isn’t gluten-free. It was a special one for the husband and he isn’t gluten allergic. Hence…

So anyway, here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Walnut Cake

Flour – 4 cups

Curd – 2 cups (you can reduce if you want)

Baking powder – 2 tsp

Baking soda – 1+1/2 tsp

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Sugar – 3 cups

Butter – 1 cup

Veg oil – 2+1/2 cups

Walnuts (chopped roughly) – 2 cups (for batter) + 1 to 1+1/2 cup for frosting

Dark chocolate – 300gms

I baked two separate cakes so I could frost the mid layer easily. You may bake one big cake and slice it half. Your take. I made the batter together however.

Sieve (it makes the batter smoother if you don’t have a blender) and then blend the dry ingredients in a big bowl. Make a well in the middle and add the curd, vanilla essence, oil and butter and whisk it with your hand or machine as applicable to you. I did it manually with a whisk.

Add the walnuts and check how thick the batter is. Usually I like my batter a wee bit runny but on this eggless occasion, I decided to have it a little sticky. Now, halve the batter and bake it separately or wait till the first one is done (like I did; now isn’t my kitchen clumsy?!).

For the frosting: Use a double boiler to melt the chocolate. I put a little milk in my saucepan and added the chocolate to melt it.

After the cakes are done, let them cool. Put the crusty side (usually the top) on the cake plate or in my case, just a dinner plate. Frost the top of one cake with just a big dollop of the chocolate. Place your other cake on top. If the edges protrude, slice the extra off and then pour the rest of the melted chocolate on top. Let it pour down the sides and level the top and sides with a dinner knife. Now sprinkle the chopped walnuts on top and the sides. My chocolate ran down to the plate a little, so I sprinkled walnuts there too. I wish I had taken a picture when the cake was whole. Clumsy me! But I saved a piece for the click before the guests could wipe the plate clean.

So go ahead and make your unassuming chocolate walnut (truffle sorta) cake. And let me know how it works. Share your ideas too. I’m sure you’d have smarter ways to make this than I did.

Leave a Reply

