Gluten-free + egg-free: Chocolate cake in a bowl

I swear I began the recipe for a mug. I had seen enough of those pretty cake-in-a-mug pictures of my friends to finally park my procrastination and try it out.

But you must remember, I am a clumsy cook. So the measure went a little overboard. The first trial – cake in a mug – was a dry one. I over-microwaved it and I won’t show you that picture. But I’m a cake glutton. So I punched holes into it and poured a sweetened orange-butter syrup and washed it all down.

Now, coming to the cake in the bowl. The timer was set for a minute at first (once bitten, twice shy). Then, peeking at the rise through the microwave window, I increased the time a couple of times, 10-20 seconds at a time. So, I can say it took me about 2-2 & 1/2 minutes for the cake in a bowl.

img_3261-1img_3262-1

Gluten-free flour: 3 tbsp

Sugar: 3 tbsp

Curd: 1 tbsp

Veg oil: 1-1 1/2 tbsp

Pinch of salt

Cocoa powder: 2-3 tbsp

Baking powder: 1/4 tsp

Pinch of baking soda, optional*

I whisked it all together in the same microwaveable bowl I’d bake it in. No preheating required really. You can simply put it in, choose microwave mode (not convection) and set the timer. Ka-Ching! Cake is done. Dig in with a spoon.

Do you have any quick and easy baking ideas? Please share. I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

