Eggless Alphonso Cake

Spring has been behaving rather bizarre these days. I think it mistook May to be July. Nights have been ending with a downpour and mornings beginning with the hangover of one. If not for my spring flowers, I’d be misled to think of the day as the sluggish reminder of the upcoming monsoons. So I baked a happy cake. A happy, eggless, Alphonso mango cake! I had baked a (mousambi) sweet-lime cake, on Mom’s birthday in April. Its popularity encouraged me to try this.

Alphonso mangoes are happy by default, both in colour, texture and softness of tang, unlike our desi aam! The rich yellow colour of its purée is so enlivening, I decided to offer my eyes some succour in the otherwise dull morning today.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 flour (whatever suits you, although gluten-free ones usually require a little more baking powder/soda for upliftment)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda (Or more precisely, two pinches if you please. I have had disasters with a little too much of this petty little thing, so I’m extra cautious)

1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup regular veg oil

1 cup of Alphonso mango puree (homemade or otherwise)

3 tbsp sweetened condensed milk (works for the sugar as well)

2 tbsp milk* (The recipe I used, didn’t call for it, but I used it to loosen the condensed milk)

A pinch of salt

Blend it all and bake it for 30 mins. Done-done-a-done!

For frosting, you can use puree with whipped cream (or low-fat cream) and honey. I had neither. So, Clumsy Kitchen blended the puree with condensed milk and 1/2 tsp salt and spread it over the cake. The taste was what Sheldon calls — bazinga!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

